Loving the Lines//Five Little Indians

I saw that Julie over at One More Book came up with a post called Loving the Lines.

Basically, Loving the Lines is dedicated to books with stand-out quotes that need to be shared. I’m often moved by passages and lines from the books I read, and I thought this would be a great way to show love to those books! Many thanks to all the wonderful writers who inspire, empower, entertain, and make people think. 

As soon as I saw this post I knew I needed to make this post! Instead of focusing on just one author, I’ve decided to focus on one book that has some really powerful and memorable quotes.

We were children… and neither of us survived, even though I’m still walking.

You know no one talks about it. About the schools. 

We all suffered. You, me, all those other children and their parents. 

It’s not even the money, Clara. It’s about telling my story. Having my say after all these years. Not just me, but for the ones who can’t speak out. Like Kenny. Like my mom.

…You’ve already survived. This is letting them know what you survived.

Can’t give me back my childhood, but maybe we can make a better life with this.

We were just little kids.

‘They call us survivors.’

‘Yeah.’

‘I don’t think I survived. Do you?’

About the Book:

Book cover of Five Little Indians by Michelle Good

Publisher: Harper Perennial

Published: April 14, 2020

Synopsis:

Leave a comment