Loving the Lines//The Last House on the Street

I saw that Julie over at One More Book came up with a post called Loving the Lines.

Basically, Loving the Lines is dedicated to books with stand-out quotes that need to be shared. I’m often moved by passages and lines from the books I read, and I thought this would be a great way to show love to those books! Many thanks to all the wonderful writers who inspire, empower, entertain, and make people think. 

As soon as I saw this post I knew I needed to make this post! Instead of focusing on just one author, I’ve decided to focus on one book that has some really powerful and memorable quotes.

We were white girls who’d grown up in a mostly white town. Race didn’t come up much in our conversations. 

“It’s much easier to put our heads in the sand and let someone else do the hard work, isn’t it,” he said. “But somebody has to do it. It’s the only way to bring about change…” 

“It’s just been my experience that white folk can put on a nice, happy-to-meet-you mask, but underneath it, they’re the same as the worst racist on the block.”

“The real thing isn’t always sunshine and roses and it’s not always… exciting, thrilling, but it’s solid. That’s the kind of thing that lasts.”

Loneliness felt like a disease with no cure.

About the Book:

Book cover for The Last House on the Street by Diane Chamberlain

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Published: January 11, 2022

Synopsis:

Leave a comment